Tags

A couple of months ago I entered a series of sweeps from Dr. Oz and crossed my fingers. A week or so ago I received an email saying that I won a bottle of Nuttzo butter from one of the sweeps. Secretly, I was holding out for some of the more awesome prizes, but free is free so I’ll shut up.

Now, I’m definitely a peanut butter fan. I’ve been known to eat tablespoon fulls of the stuff. Being on a low-carb diet, though, I only allow myself a couple of spoonfuls    a week.

Nuttzo is a company that creates organic nut butters. Some with peanut and some without. They even have a chocolate version of their nut butter. The item I won is the Nuttzo multi-nut butter without peanuts. This is a great option for people who have peanut allergies or for those who just don’t like peanuts (are you crazy? who doesn’t like peanuts?)

Okay, let’s get to the nuts and bolts of this review (pun totally intended)…

Presentation: The label is visually pleasing, as you can tell from the image above, and it’s easy to read and understand. The bottle is made of glass which can pose as a problem for those who allow their kids to make their own sandwiches, otherwise, it’s not a big deal. You’ll notice the label is on “upside down” and that’s because it’s stored on its lid before it’s opened. Once you open it, the instructions tell us to store it in the refrigerator with the lid facing up.

Taste: I’ve eaten natural, organic peanut butters before but I’ve never had nut butter and I’ve never tried Nuttzo until now. I wasn’t completely sure what to expect so my mind was open. And opened it should be because upon opening the bottle I was confronted with a brown, buttery substance with a lot of small black seeds and pieces of nuts.

(Image not mine but from another blog about Nuttzo Multi-Nut Butter without Peanuts)

You can imagine the texture on the tongue is part creamy and party seedy (lots of seeds). The positive part about the seeds is that it adds crunch. The downside are the seeds can get stuck between your teeth.

The taste is mild and very nutty (as you would expect). The blend of 100% organic almonds, cashews, brazil nuts, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, flax seeds, hazelnuts, and sea salt creates a surprisingly balanced taste of the nuts without any one of them overwhelming the others.  Simply put, it’s delicious and difficult to stop eating.

Price: This is where I impart the bad news about Nuttzo. It’s too expensive for my thrift-store budget. Luckily, I got this full-sized bottle for free. On Amazon.com the prices range from $14 per bottle to over $20. The official Nuttzo website (nutzo.com) is selling the same sized bottle for $22! That’s an insane amount of money to spend on one jar of nut butter. I’m sorry but that $22 plus shipping can buy me HALF A DOZEN jars of brand name, organic, all-natural peanut butter at my local grocery stores. No way am I paying that much for a jar of nut butter. No matter how tasty it is.

So…Nuttzo, while I’m thoroughly enjoying your amazing taste and benefiting from your organic healthiness; once the jar is empty, it will have to be adieux for now. Unless I win another bottle from someplace else. 😀

