Tags

, , ,

Boursin-R-Gourmet-Spreads-Garlic-Herbs(

(Image credit: Boursin.com)

Smiley360.com gave me the opportunity to try a Boursin spreadable cheese for free via a mission. The mission is for me to give my honest opinion about the product.

To start off, I’m a big cheese fan but I’m not really into spreadable cheeses. I’ve seen them in the grocery store when I shop for Brie and Camembert cheese. But I have been a bit curious to try one so when this mission came up I jumped at the chance.

Boursin spreadable cheese comes in a variety of flavors such as Garlic & Herbs (image above), Spinach & Artichoke, Monterey Jack & Spicy Pepper to name a few. My local grocery story only had two flavors to choose from, the Garlic & Herbs and another one that I can’t remember now. I chose the Garlic & Herbs.

First impressions: My eyes read “spreadable cheese” but my brain was still surprised when I opened it and I faced mushy cheese. I’m so used to cheeses that need to be sliced or grated that I temporarily forgot what I was dealing with. Once the fraction of a second worth of confusion washed over me, the next impression I got was the strong aroma it gives off. It’s actually quite pleasant. I don’t mind the smell of garlic and actually, when I do smell it, it makes my mouth water because some of the best tasting dishes I’ve had garlic was a prominent feature.

Taste: I came unprepared for my tasting. I forgot to buy something to spread the cheese on. The only thing I had was hamburger buns and I wasn’t about to try that. So the next best thing was just to dig in. I took a fork and scooped out a tiny bit to try. The minute it hit my tongue I tasted the boldness of the garlic. It was almost as if I had bitten into a fresh clove of garlic. But it wasn’t unpleasant. It was actually pretty good. I immediately knew I had to try this cheese with something. It’s too much to eat by itself, of course. So I made a blue cheese salad and decided to crumble/spread some of this Boursin cheese into it. Since this spreadable cheese does have some crumble to it, it wasn’t as ridiculous as it sounds. The two cheeses together created a flavor explosion in my mouth! That was one delicious salad. The lettuce tamed both cheeses so it wasn’t overpowering. I was very surprised at how good it turned out.

Price: Because of the hefty price ($6.99 at my local store), I don’t think I’ll be indulging in any Boursin cheese very often. I wouldn’t mind splurging on this maybe once or twice a year but I didn’t love it enough to have it more often (as I do with Brie and Camembert).

Overall Opinion: I’m happy I was at last able to try a spreadable, flavorful cheese. It was a great experience that I recommend for all cheese lovers out there. I do plan to buy something like french bread to spread it on (I still have more than half of it left to eat) so that I can eat it the proper way. I would recommend this cheese especially to anyone looking to host a party. There’s enough in the package that everyone (if you’re hosting a normal sized gathering at your home) can have a few crackers or bread bits with this spread.

Come check out the Boursin page on Smiley360 here!

